About the Practice Tests

The English Language Proficiency Assessment for the 21st Century (ELPA21) is designed to measure the performance of English language learners (ELLs) as they progress through their K-12 public education and achieve college and carreer readiness. These practice tests mirror the design of the Operational tests by testing in four domains: Listening, Speaking, Reading and Writing.

The practice tests combine sample items for different grade levels and subject areas. The following tests are available:

  • Listening, Speaking, Reading, Writing
    • Kindergarten
    • Grade 1
    • Grades 2-3
    • Grades 4-5
    • Grades 6-8
    • Grades 9-12

The purpose of these practice tests is to become familiar with the system, functionality, and item types; the tests are not intended to guide classroom instruction. Some students may have difficulty with some of the content aligned to higher grades within the grade level/subject range of each training test; nevertheless, this should not interfere with students’ ability to interact with an item for its intended training purpose. If an item appears to be too difficult, encourage students to experiment with the tools, choose the best answer and move on to the next item. Accessing the Practice Tests Users must use a supported secure browser. For more information, refer to the Secure Browsers page.